Congratulations Class of September 2019

By Corey Newman

PPA's September 2019 CLS (Continuous Learning Series) class recently concluded in Nashville, Tennessee, showcasing another successful professional development gathering of the Institute for Facilities Management and Leadership Academy. Colleagues from around the globe were welcomed to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these offerings such a success. A special note of thanks goes to Institute Deans Mary Vosevich, Chris Smeds, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; and to our Academy Faculty Glenn Smith, Beth Clark, Shawna Code, Ana Thiemer, Viron Lynch, and Matt Adams.

We also offered ASHRAE's HVAC Design: Level I – Essentials: Tools for High Performance Building Designers" and APPA's "Leading Your Facilities Organization through an Age of Transformational Change."

Throughout the week, students had opportunities to interact with experts who brought their

knowledge and experiences from wide-ranging backgrounds and provided a rich environment for all attendees. Approximately 500 facilities professionals attended. As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the class of September 2019 (including 66 new alumni).

A big kudos to all those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any individual must be as customizable as the individuals themselves, and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, organizational, and institutional goals. Please visit www.appa.org and click on Continuous Learning for more on APPA's program offerings.

Corey Newman is APPA's associate director of professional development and can be reached at *corey@* appa.org.





ACADEMY GRADUATES

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured

Randy Coleman, Whitman College
Richard Covington, University of Virginia
Michael Coyne, University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia

Gabriel Dreiling, Oklahoma State University
Ramiro Flores, Texas Christian University
John Furry, Purdue University Main Campus
Laura Gay, Middle Georgia State University
Joseph Harrell, University of Cincinnati Main
Campus

Cathy Headley, *Grand Valley State University*Deborah Johnson, *Purdue University Main*Campus

Robert Kelly, *University of Nebraska - Lincoln*Brenda Korinek, *North Dakota State College*of Science

Melinda Lamoureux, *Bridgewater State University*Lauren Lantz, *University of Cincinnati Main Campus*

Lee McQueen, *University of Nebraska - Kearney*Will Meeker, *Kutztown University of Pennsylvania*Barbara Morck, *University of New Mexico*

Ken Pearce, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Vincent Price, Dallas County Community College District Office

Dave Reinhardt, *University of Nebraska - Lincoln*Daniel Ridgway, *Kent State University*Paul Sheff, *Wake Forest University*

Brian Stanford, *Virginia Polytechnic Institute* and State University

Anthony Stewart, *University of Maryland*College Park

Christopher Swank, *Grand Valley State University* Scot Wilson, *Arizona State University*

Caroline Wolf, *Joliet Junior College* Bernard Zertuche, *Alamo Colleges*

INSTITUTE GRADUATES

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured

George Adams, University of New Mexico
Colin Atkinson, Maquette University
Mindy Baylor, University of South Dakota
James Harrison Blackwell, University of Kentucky
Chad Brandt, University of Arizona

Thomas Edward Couch, *Joint Task Force Civil*Support

Patricia Ann Counce, *Dallas County Community College District*

Tony DeJohn, US Marine/Corps Camp Pendleton

David DeLuca, Quinnipiac University

Tom Dietrich, Baldwin Wallace University

Patrick Dolan, *University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia*

Paul Duprey, *University of Virginia*Steven Dussart, *University of New Mexico*Ron English, *Indiana University Bloomington*Doug Hagman, *Pennsylvania State University*Robert Hartwright, *University of Massachusetts*

Andrew Henry, University of Akron

Lindsey Honeyager, *University of Wisconsin-Madison*

Steven Hughes, University of Kentucky

Edwin Jeffres, *University of Tennessee Health* Science Center

Steven Lemay, University of Massachusetts

Joe McKenna, Purdue University - Fort Wayne

Steven Mendoza, Pima Community College

Gary Morog, State University of New York at Brockport

Jason Murphy, *Univesrity of Kentucky*

Glosenda P. Navales, *University of Maryland Baltimore*

Tina Reese, Western University of Health Science Gary Riggs, University of California-Santa Cruz

Armando Rios, Texas Christian University

Jackie Lynn Robledo, *University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign*

Chad Royer, Moravian College

Kimberley A Sandoval, *University of Southern California*

Jeff Siebler, University of Arkansas

Dominic Silvers, Bucknell University

Stephanie Skebeck, Pennsylvania State University

Tad Smith, Purdue University - Fort Wayne

Jeffrey Surine, Cornell University

Dawn Syhre, South Dakota State University

Vincent Taylor, North Carolina State University

Gary L. Vargas, Santa Clara University